Amy Peacock, an A level student at Colchester Royal Grammar School reflects on her first dig – 28th May 2016

The Gestingthorpe Romano British dig was my first organised dig. Although I had a few beginner’s nerves, the Stour Valley Community Archaeology members were so welcoming and instantly included me as part of their group. The landowner, Ashley, kindly informed me about the history of the Roman Villa, as well as the work he was doing on the site to ensure I had substantial background knowledge. His enthusiasm and passion is really inspiring. I spent the majority of the day in the trenches, learning the proper techniques for archaeology, and I was fortunate enough to find several interesting pieces of pottery, despite the incredibly hard ground!

I found it very beneficial to take part in an official dig, as I’m now starting to understand, not only how to practically apply archaeology, but also how records are taken and the way that finds are correctly sorted. I’ve always been interested in archaeology, and now that I’ve begun to actively take part in the communities, I know that I never want to give it up. So thank you to Ashley and SVCA for making my first day as an archaeologist so enjoyable and informative, and thank you to Jane Crone for telling me about the work of the SVCA and for inviting me along.

Thank you for your lovely blog Amy- it was a pleasure having you with us! Jane

Leave a Reply

